skip navigation
NMWAY Wrestling


By Clarion Sports Information Department , 11/08/15, 9:45PM EST


   (Ypsilanti, Michigan): The 2015-16 Clarion University NCAA Div. wrestling team opened its dual meet season on Saturday with a 19-12 win over Michigan State and finished the day with a 1-3 record at the rugged Eastern Michigan duals.
                Led by second year head coach Keith Ferraro, the Golden Eagles opened the day with a 28-12 loss to Eastern Michigan, then lost 34-11 to Northern Illinois, bounced back for a 19-12 win over Michigan State, then lost the finale to Illinois 34-6.
                Clarion won 6 bouts in its 19-12 win over Michigan State. Patrick DeWitt led off with a 9-8 rideout win in sudden victory over Mict Rogaliner at 125, then Mike Bartolo decisioned Garth Yenter 7-2 at 133 and Brock Zacherl had an 11-0 major decision over Kyle Abdellatif at 141 for a 10-0 Clarion lead.
                MSU came back with wins at 149 and 157, but the Eagles had two wins of their own when Evan DeLong decisioned Travis curley 3-1 at 165 and Michael Pavasko was a 7-2 winner over Shane Shadaia at 174. MSU pulled to within 16-12 with wins at 184 and 197, but Clarion heavyweight Evan Daley secured the win with a 3-2 decision over Dimitrus Renfroe at 285.
                On the day Clarion's Evan DeLong and Brock Zacherl posted 3-1 records, pushing their season records to 8-1. Also going 2-2 on the day were Patrick DeWitt at 125, Mike Bartolo at 133, and Evan Daley at 285.
                Clarion will travel to Bloomsburg next Sunday for a 2pm dual meet.

125 Armando Torres (Eastern Michigan) over Patrick Dewitt (Clarion) TF 16-1 
133 Mike Bartolo (Clarion) over Shayne Wireman (Eastern Michigan) TB-1 3-2 
141 Brock Zacherl (Clarion) over Kyle Springer (Eastern Michigan) Dec 9-6 
149 Nick Barber (Eastern Michigan) over Brodie Zacherl (Clarion) Maj 10-0 
157 Devan Marry (Eastern Michigan) over Morgan Way (Clarion) Fall 2:54 
165 Evan Delong (Clarion) over Derek Davison (Eastern Michigan) Dec 6-4 
174 Jacob Davis (Eastern Michigan) over Michael Pavasko (Clarion) Dec 9-2 
184 Dominic Rigous (Clarion) over Derek Hillman (Eastern Michigan) Dec 6-1 
197 Anthony Abro (Eastern Michigan) over Dustin Conti (Clarion) Maj 17-6 
285 Gage Hutchison (Eastern Michigan) over Evan Daley (Clarion) Fall 1:11 


125 Alijah Jeffery (Northern Illinois) over Patrick Dewitt (Clarion) Fall 1:28 
133 Austin Eicher (Northern Illinois) over Mike Bartolo (Clarion) Fall 1:18 
141 Steve Bleise (Northern Illinois) over Brock Zacherl (Clarion) Fall 0:54 
149 Gabe Morse (Northern Illinois) over Brodie Zacherl (Clarion) Maj 11-3 
157 Jake Keller (Clarion) over Austin Culton (Northern Illinois) Dec 6-4 
165 Evan Delong (Clarion) over Andrew Scott (Northern Illinois) Maj 11-2 
174 Trace Engelkes (Northern Illinois) over Michael Pavasko (Clarion) Fall 0:43 
184 Quinton Rosser (Northern Illinois) over Dominic Rigous (Clarion) Dec 8-6 
197 Shawn Scott (Northern Illinois) over Dustin Conti (Clarion) Dec 5-2 
285 Evan Daley (Clarion) over Jake Cochrane (Northern Illinois) Maj 12-3 


125 Patrick Dewitt (Clarion) over Mitch Rogaliner (Michigan State) SV-1 9-8
133 Mike Bartolo (Clarion) over Garth Yenter (Michigan State) Dec 7-2
141 Brock Zacherl (Clarion) over Kyle Abdellatif (Michigan State) Maj 11-0
149 Josh Pennell (Michigan State) over Jake Keller (Clarion) Dec 3-2
157 Joseph Johnson (Michigan State) over Brodie Zacherl (Clarion) Dec 8-2
165 Evan Delong (Clarion) over Travis Curley (Michigan State) Dec 3-1
174 Michael Pavasko (Clarion) over Shane Shadaia (Michigan State) Dec 7-2
184 Shwan Shadaia (Michigan State) over Dominic Rigous (Clarion) Dec 3-2
197 Jacob Cooper (Michigan State) over Dustin Conti (Clarion) Dec 5-3
285 Evan Daley (Clarion) over Dimitrus Renfroe (Michigan State) Dec 3-2


125 Patrick Dewitt (Clarion) over Francis Edelen (Illinois) Dec 7-6 
133 Zane Richards (Illinois) over Mike Bartolo (Clarion) TF 23-5 
141 Brock Zacherl (Clarion) over Brock Ervin (Illinois) Dec 3-1 
149 Kyle Langenderfer (Illinois) over Jake Keller (Clarion) Fall 2:02 
157 Isaiah Martinez (Illinois) over Morgan Way (Clarion) TF 22-7 
165 Steven Rodrigues (Illinois) over Evan Delong (Clarion) Dec 13-7 
174 Zach Brunson (Illinois) over Michael Pavasko (Clarion) Fall 2:54 
184 Jeffrey Koepke (Illinois) over Dominic Rigous (Clarion) Dec 4-2 
197 Andre Lee (Illinois) over Dustin Conti (Clarion) Dec 7-4
285 Brooks Black (Illinois) over Evan Daley (Clarion) Dec 9-4